Music Teacher Of The Year Essayshark

Classic FM Music Teacher of the Year winners announced

10 July 2017, 07:51

Classic FM has honoured five music teachers who have made a real difference to the musical lives of students across the UK in this year’s Classic FM Music Teacher of the Year Awards with Casio and ABRSM.

The Awards recognise and reward Britain’s most inspiring teachers and celebrate their work in five categories: Primary, Secondary, Peripatetic, Special Education Needs and Lifetime Achievement.

Hosted by Classic FM presenter Myleene Klass, the Awards took place at London’s Barbican as part of ABRSM’s prestigious Shine event, which showcased the very best in music education by shining a spotlight on the winning music teachers, as well as the next generation of performers and teachers. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented by former music teacher and twice Mercury-nominated singer Laura Mvula.

The winners of Classic FM’s Music Teacher of the Year Awards 2017 are:

• Primary Music Teacher of the Year: Robert Parton from Goose Green Primary School in Southwark, London
• Secondary Music Teacher of the Year: Grace Jack from St David’s RC High School in Dalkeith, Midlothian
• Peripatetic Music Teacher of the Year: Una Birtchnell from Lewisham, London
• Special Education Needs Music Teacher of the Year: Felicity Kirk from the Valley School in Stevenage, Hertfordshire
• Lifetime Achievement: Linda Filby-Borrett from Ryde on the Isle of Wight

The teachers were chosen from hundreds of applicants across the country and were nominated by schools, students and parents. A panel of expert industry judges, including John Holmes, ABRSM’s chief examiner, and Alex Stevens, editor of Music Teacher magazine, then selected the winner from each award category.

Myleene Klass said: “Music teachers are absolute heroes – I know first-hand the dedication, hard work and inspiration they impart, as well as the tools I myself was given by them. As part of Classic FM’s 25th birthday celebrations, I was honoured to team up with Casio and ABRSM to salute the UK’s most inspirational music teachers with our awards.”

Jack Terroni, Marketing Executive at Casio Music said: “We are proud to be supporting the awards. It’s an honour to present some of the highest accolades available to such worthy winners who have made a real difference. We are thrilled to be part of such an inspirational day which recognises the importance of music education across the UK. Music can and should be part of everyone’s lives.”

Michael Elliott, Chief Executive of ABRSM said: “Last Friday, we celebrated the best of music education at our Shine event and we were delighted to honour and recognise the tremendous work of five exceptional music teachers. The winners are inspirational role models for the next generation of performers, leaders and ambassadors.”

DOVER-FOXCROFT — An elementary music teacher from Dover-Foxcroft has been named Maine’s teacher of the year.

SeDoMoCha Elementary School music teacher Kaitlin Young learned she was Maine’s top educator during a surprise assembly on Wednesday. Young was one of 16 teachers from across the state selected to compete for the award.

The music instructor began teaching in 2010. Young currently teaches elementary students and instructs choral music to district middle school students. The educator recently earned her master’s degree in music education from The Hartt School, in Hartford, Connecticut.

Department of Education Commissioner Robert Hasson Jr. lauded Young’s “integrated teaching style” and passion for bringing arts to her students and the communicated.

Young will travel throughout the state to advocate for education as part of the award.


Here at MaineToday Media we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion.

To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use. Click here to flag and report a comment that violates our terms of use.

More Like This

0 thoughts on “Music Teacher Of The Year Essayshark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *